Skip to content
June 29, 2011 / Arlington Unwrapped

Arlington Online – Where Do You Find News You Can Use?

I am prone to getting sucked in to the constant stream of information and real-time news and opinions that are available on the internet.

But in terms of local Arlington news and information, there are some terrific sites and blogs available – it’s no wonder I’m hooked! I visit some more than others, but as a whole they provide a well-rounded portrayal of our diverse, ever-evolving town! 

GENERAL NEWS

  • ArlNow.com  – probably the most comprehensive, frequently updated source for information in Arlington, from breaking news to county politics to car accidents
  • Pike Wire  – South Arlington can occasionally be overshadowed by the hustle and bustle of North Arlington neighborhoods bordering the Orange Line. PikeWire brings the focus to the area around Columbia Pike, with a particular spotlight on the on-going revitalization
  • Shirlington Village Blog
  • UnSuck DC Metro  – While not Arlington-specific, it does provide hours of entertainment (and information) on the foils and fumbles (and sometime outright failures) of the Metro Transportation System

INFORMATION FOR FAMILIES

  • Go Out And Play Arlington – Great Arlington family-oriented blog, particularly if you are looking for well-organized compilation of activities in and around Arlington
  • Arlington Kids
  • The Meanest Momma  – More than once I’ve referred young families buying a home in Arlington to this blog as a great resource on local parks (I personally enjoy the recipes!)

LIFESTYLE, RESTAURANTS, NIGHTLIFE

Any good sites that I missed? Let me know in the comments!

Image Credit to renjith krishnan

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kendra aka The Meanest Momma / Jul 13 2011 4:26 pm

    Aw… you’re making me blush 🙂

    thanks for the shout out to my TMM site 🙂 I’m personally a big fan of ArlNow.com and Our Kid (http://our-kids.com) as a resource for finding things to do and places to explore.

    Kendra aka The Meanest Momma
    http://themeanestmomma.com

    • Arlington Unwrapped / Jul 13 2011 5:42 pm

      You’re very welcome – Its a well-deserved shout-out! I’m checking out the Our Kids site now!

      Jody @ Arlington Unwrapped

  2. Jason Spencer / Jul 15 2011 7:37 pm

    I’m partial to the Clarendon-Courthouse-Rosslyn Patch — http://clarendon.patch.com — but I’m biased 🙂 Took over the site May 23.

    That said, local blogs like yours have been a huge resource in helping me get to know the local area. I’m new here, and there’s a lot to explore!

    Jason

    • Arlington Unwrapped / Jul 15 2011 7:55 pm

      Hey Jason – I just added you to my Links section… definitely noticed a difference in the last month or two, and I mean that as a compliment! Welcome to Arlington!

      Jody @ Arlington Unwrapped

  3. Jason Spencer / Jul 18 2011 11:38 am

    Thanks!

    Jason

Leave a Reply

